Roasted Broccoli and Cauliflower (With Lemon and Garlic)

Happy New Year ladies and gentlemen. I can’t believe that it is more than 20 days into the new year, and I am just now putting in my first post. I assure you this will not be the trend this year. The year started off with some traveling, and between that and colds making their rounds at my house, it’s been a busy few weeks. I’m glad to be settled back in, and I’m pumped to see that this year holds.
We have had an interesting last couple weeks. As part of a 21 Day Fast that we do through our church, my family gave up meat, along with a few other things. We have done this before, but it always throws me for quite a loop when it comes to planning meals. It makes me realize just how dependent I have become on meat, and how much my meals are planned around it. Needless to say there have been some very different dishes experimented this last couple weeks -some more successful than others.. READ Tofu 🙂 If nothing else, I feel inspired to incorporate a lot more meatless meals into our lives, even after the 21 days are over.
It has been really interesting to see this experience through the eyes of my kids, especially the 7 year old who is pretty candid about what she doesn’t like (even though she still has no option but to eat it!). This is one of the dishes that got a big thumbs up from her, so I thought I would share it. We eat quite a bit of broccoli at my house, but cauliflower is one of those veggies that does not grace our plates very often. I have come to truly appreciate what roasting vegetables does to elevate them. I have often told my friends that when it comes to a vegetable, when in doubt, drizzle some olive oil and seasoning, roast at high heat, and you are set. This could not be more true than with cauliflower and broccoli, The best thing about this dish was the nuttiness of the veggies brought out by roasting them. Of course, you can never go wrong with some lemon, in my opinion! I love lemon in almost anything. I always figure that if I’m going to juice a lemon, I might as well zest it too. The oils in the zest make the dish smell heavenly, and taste even more strongly of lemon. If you are timid about the lemon flavor, skip the zest and just use the juice. These veggies are quick to whip up, and are a great compliment to almost anything. We had ours with veggie burgers and baked sweet potato fries.
Enjoy.
Ingredients:
1 Medium Cauliflower head (cut into florets about 1 1/2 inch diameter)
1 Medium Broccoli head (cut into florets about 1 1/2 inch diameter)
1/4 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil
4 Cloves of garlic, sliced
2 Lemons (zest the lemons, then juice them)
1 1/2 teaspoons Salt
1 teaspoon Black Pepper
4 Tablespoons grated Parmesan
Preheat the oven to 500 Degrees F.
DSC_0303
Put the broccoli and cauliflower in a large roasting pan. Drizzle with the olive oil, garlic, lemon juice and zest, salt and pepper. Roast in the oven in the middle rack for 15 minutes, while stirring from time to time to ensure even browning.
DSC_0307
Remove from the oven, and sprinkle with the Parmesan cheese. Serve immediately.
DSC_0311
Devotion For The Day:
Yesterday I read a passage of scripture that I have read many times before, but still amazes me. I was reading from Mark 5. It was the story of the woman with the issue of blood.  Jesus was on his way to a man named Jairus’ house to heal his daughter who was very ill. A crowd was following him and pressing in around him.

Mark 5 :25 And a woman was there who had been subject to bleeding for twelve years. 26 She had suffered a great deal under the care of many doctors and had spent all she had, yet instead of getting better she grew worse. 27 When she heard about Jesus, she came up behind him in the crowd and touched his cloak, 28 because she thought, “If I just touch his clothes, I will be healed.” 29 Immediately her bleeding stopped and she felt in her body that she was freed from her suffering. At that time, Jesus realized that someone had touched him, and he asked who it was. She fell at Jesus feet trembling, and told him the truth. 34 He said to her, “Daughter, your faith has healed you. Go in peace and be freed from your suffering.”. 

The most remarkable thing to me is to imagine what kind of faith still holds on, 12 years later. She had gone broke trying to solve her medical condition, not to mention the heartache of crushed hopes every time she tried a treatment avenue that didn’t work. I would imagine that she had sought many “medical doctors” of the time who had promised much, and delivered nothing. Yet this lady had faith to believe that all she needed to do was a simple thing such as touch the hem of Jesus garment. Not for Jesus to have a drawn out special prayer for her, or some other dramatic gesture. She trusted that just touching his hem would be enough to heal her. Just that! And that simple faith is the avenue by which she was healed!

I desire the faith that this woman had. The faith that holds on past many disappointments and still believes that there is a miracle awaiting me if only I can just touch Jesus, the HEALER of all situations.

2 thoughts on “Roasted Broccoli and Cauliflower (With Lemon and Garlic)

  1. Wow! Thanks so much for this! I found your post quite by accident, (by God’s direction, really!) and at the end
    your own words about searching for that kind of faith is exactly the place I am at now in my own life. You have
    greatly inspired me, I am going to return to your recipes for cooking, and life, on a regular basis from now on. May God
    bless you deeply at this joyous Christmas time and in the New Year !
    Katharine

Leave a Reply

