Blueberry and Peach Baked Oatmeal

Blueberry and Peach Baked Oatmeal
Blueberry and Peach Baked Oatmeal


I cannot believe December is here. It has been a year with many changes for us, but a truly great year. I’m filled with gratitude this time of year when I look at where I was January 1st, and where I am now. My kids have grown so much! It’s amazing the things I have heard from them this year. That alone would be blog material to last me a lifetime. My youngest turns 2 in a few days, and she is a spit-ball of fire. Her newest phrase is “oh-my-nooness!” since we say “oh my goodness” a ton around here. My sweetie has had some major challenges in the business this year, and I’m so proud of the way he has taken to all the transitions. Our family has had to ask ourselves some pretty important questions. We took a family identity class this summer that really made us start charting out a path for who we are and what we want our legacy to be. I would encourage every family to do this. Truly life changing.
One of the more exciting things for me has been to finally be able to have this blog up and running, and to have you come and check it out. I have talked myself in and out of doing this many times this year, because I was so scared of the unknown. I’m terrible with pictures, and even worse when it comes to anything tech related, so this has been a challenge to say the least. I’m so glad I did it though! It has been fulfilling to challenge myself and grow a little every time. I look forward to seeing where this journey takes me.
Back to recipes though. (This time of year always makes me a little reminiscent). We are generally not big breakfast eaters. In fact, my sweetie and I will often skip breakfast, which I know is terrible! Now that we are trying to take better care of ourselves, we have become religious about our breakfast. It has been oatmeal on most days. I will admit though, that after a few days, it’s starting to get old. I think it’s mostly a texture thing for me. Over the last few years, I have seen a few baked oatmeal recipes flying around, but I had not really bothered to try them. It’s been on my mind for a few days now, so I figured I would try it out. I’m so glad I did! It was DELICIOUS! I love the crispy edges of the oatmeal mixed in with the smooth and creamy texture of the filling ( I added a little milk into my bowl). I really could eat this every morning. It was yummy and filling too! I will be trying different combinations here soon, and hopefully report back to you. This time I had some frozen peaches and blueberries, so that is what I thawed and used. I also lightened it up quite a bit by using fat free yogurt and milk, and mostly egg whites. You can use regular and I’m sure it would be really good too. I can’t wait to warm up a bowl tomorrow morning. I think next time I will make a double batch.
I also worked up the nutrition facts in a recipe calculator, and it came up to be 236 Calories, 42 Carbs, 4 g Fat, 11 g Protein. (It will be 276 Calories with 1/2 cup Fat Free Milk added). I was shooting for a 300 Calories for breakfast, and this is perfect.
Makes 6 servings.
Ingredients:
2 Cups Rolled Oats (Old Fashioned Oats)
1 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Salt
1/3 Cup Packed Brown Sugar
1 tsp Ground Cinnamon
3/4 Cup Milk (I used Fat Free)
3/4 Cup Yogurt (I used Fat Free Vanilla)
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
3 Eggs (I used 1 whole and 2 egg whites)
1 Cup Blueberries
1 Cup Peaches, diced
1. Preheat oven to 350 Degrees F. Spray a baking pan (I used an 8 by 8 Inch) with cooking spray, or lightly grease the pan.
2. In a large bowl, combine the oats, baking powder, salt, brown sugar (I reserved 1 tablespoon to sprinkle on top) and cinnamon. In another bowl, combine the milk, yogurt, vanilla and eggs. Add the wet ingredients into the oat mixture.
3. Add in the blueberries and peaches and combine. Pour into the prepared baking dish, Sprinkle the top with the remaining tablespoon of sugar and a little cinnamon. Bake for 35-40 minutes, until golden brown.
Serve warm.
-The oatmeal is great for make ahead breakfast. You can reheat the whole pan at 250 Degrees F for about 20 minutes, or individual portions in the microwave. I plan to add about a half a cup of milk to my bowl, since I like the creamy and crunchy contrast.
-If you use plain yogurt, you may want to add a little more sugar, or even try apple sauce. My yogurt was sweetened, so there was no need for more sugar.
Devotion For The Day:
Godly Wisdom.
Today’s devotion is from James 3. I love the book of James. It is a short book, but probably one of the most practical ones in the bible. James calls us to act, not merely say we are Christians, but truly live it out. It’s a powerful book. The beginning of Chapter 3 talks about taming the tongue, and the power of our tongue. The last part of the chapter though, is what I really want to talk about today. Maybe it sticks out more to me now, having just finished off with the US elections, and now following the Kenyan elections. Looking at the leaders running for office, I can’t help but wonder how each of them compare with these verses. Chapter 13: Who is wise and understanding among you? Let him show by good conduct that his works are done in the meekness of wisdom. It hit me that those words are so contrary to what we usually consider as worldly wisdom. Chapter 17 summed up the comparison perfectly: But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and without hypocrisy. I’m not trying to make a political statement here. These verses just made me ponder though, about what we consider as wisdom from a worldly sense, verses what Godly wisdom looks like.
1. Godly wisdom is willing to yield to others, while earthly wisdom is unyielding.
2. Godly wisdom is gentle and generous, while earthly wisdom is arrogant and self seeking.
3. Godly wisdom is full or mercy, while earthly wisdom is critical and dismissive.
4. Godly wisdom is peace loving, while earthly wisdom is confrontational.
It challenges me to keep my eyes on God, and seek what his wisdom is, not that of the world.


4 thoughts on “Blueberry and Peach Baked Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

