Apple Stuffed French Toast

Apple Stuffed French Toast

Ladies and gentlemen…. I have another one of “THOSE” recipes for you! You know those recipes that you would not make except for special occasions? I have another one to add to your list. Those recipes that fall in the category of “it definitely took more time than I would spend on a regular breakfast but sooo worth it!“, or in the “I would totally be as big as a house if I ate this everyday” or the “I’m so glad I have no idea what the word calorie means, and please do not explain it to me“. Yup! It’s one of those recipes. In my defense, it was a holiday at my house this past Saturday morning. What holiday?? I’m so glad you asked! It was “the kids are going to their Aunt’s, and I have two whole days to myself” holiday. See…… I knew you would all understand why we had to have a special breakfast. Because it was only fitting that I pump my precious beloved daughters with all the nutritious sugar and goodness that I could get them to eat before I sent them to her house. It is my duty as a loving, diligent mother 🙂 Seriously though… as a stay-home mom, there is no better gift that you could give me than the gift of a few quiet moments to myself. I’m truly grateful for my family who are so mindful to create those moments for me. Of course the kids love it too, so it’s a win-win.

Anyway, now you see why we HAD to have a special breakfast. Despite the fact that I was battling a cold, I willingly trudged into my kitchen to make these (much to my hubby’s amusement). They were just what the doctor prescribed! Sweet, crunchy, a little creamy, and since apples were involved, totally healthy 🙂 I knew the doctor would approve. I got rave reviews from the family, and I definitely plan to make this again sometime. I’m excited to try out a few other combinations, such as bananas and cream, peaches and cream, blueberry and lemon, strawberries and cream…… The options are endless.

Here we go…..

Ingredients:

Ingredients for the apple stuffing
Other ingredients (Phase 2)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Apples, peeled, cored and sliced

3 Tbsp Butter (divided)

1 1/2 tsp Cinnamon(divided)

4 Tbsp Brown Sugar

3 Tbsp Cream Cheese

2 Eggs

!/2 Cup Heavy Cream

1/2 Cup Milk

1/2 Loaf French Bread, cut into 4 Pieces (end piece removed)

Confectioner’s Sugar for garnish (optional)

1. Preheat Oven to 375 Degrees F. In a pan over medium high heat, melt 2 Tbsp butter. Add in the apple slices, 1/2 tsp cinnamon and the brown sugar.  Stir and let cook for 7-8 minutes until the apples start to soften. Transfer the mixture to a bowl and add in the cream cheese. Set aside.

Cook the apples, cinnamon and sugar in butter
Cook apples until they start to soften

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. In a rimmed dish (a 9 by 13 dish works best) beat together the eggs, cream, milk and 1 tsp cinnamon.  Take each slice of bread (they were about 2  inch thick) and cut a slit into one side of the bread, only going about 3/4 of the way through it. You want to form a pocket with the three sides of the bread still intact.

Apple Mixture and bread with pocket cut into it

3. Take the apple/ cream cheese mixture and stuff  into the bread pockets. Put the bread into the egg mixture and soak for 3-4 minutes. Turn the bread occasionally to let both sides soak in the liquid.

Bread soaking

4. In a pan (I used the same one for the apples, just rinsed off), melt a Tbsp of butter. Remove the bread from the egg mixture, draining off the excess liquid. Cook the toast on the pan for about 3 minutes per side ( till brown). I did my toast two at a time. Once browned, transfer to a cookie sheet and cook the rest of the way in the oven. The extra cooking time in the oven allows the liquid to cook off, which makes the toast nice and crispy. This took 10 minutes.

Fry both sides of toast until brown
Transfer to cookie sheet and bake for 10 min

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Sprinkle with confectioner’s sugar and drizzle with some maple syrup if you are like me, and are totally in party mode. Enjoy!

Devotion For the Day:

The Bread of Life:

I actually thought it was a little ironic that right after stuffing myself to the gills with the french toast, I retreated to my corner to do my devotion and the reading was about Jesus: The bread of life. I have been reading through the book of John, and one of my favorite things about it has been that to this point, a lot of the verses are red letter words.. the actual words of Jesus.

I was reading John 6, which has 71 verses. It starts off with Jesus feeding the great crowd of 5,000 with 5 loaves of bread and two fish. Needless to say everyone was totally astounded and amazed at the miracle of him not only feeding them to their fill, but also having 12 baskets of left overs. After this encounter, Jesus separates himself and retreats to the mountains alone, but  the crowd sought after him because of the miracle he had done. In verses 26-27,when they found him, this is what Jesus had to say “I tell you the truth, you are looking for me, not because you saw miraculous signs but because you ate the loaves and had your fill. Do not work for food that spoils, but for food that endures to eternal life, which the Son of Man will give you. On him God theFather has placed the seal of approval”. He later continued on in verse 35 to declare “I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty”.

This reading ties in with a series at my church we have been doing for the past few weeks, titled “LEGACY” (click on the link to view). It has centered around what our legacy as a person is, as well as our legacy as a church. To say it has been life changing is an understatement. I feel like God has been challenging me as far as what my legacy to my children and the future generations will be, but more so what my legacy is as HIS child. I so easily forget that my legacy is to shine my light that others can come to know the saving grace of Jesus. This reading and the series remind me that we can meet the physical needs of others all day long, but if we do not point them to the God who will fill the deepest yearning of their soul, our work is not eternal. Jesus first saw the physical need of the crowd. They were hungry. He didn’t teach them first, he FED them. But he also didn’t stop there, he offered them the bread of LIFE.  What a model to emulate!

2 thoughts on “Apple Stuffed French Toast

  1. Pingback: Apple Cinnamon Stuffed French Toast | Bakers & Best

  2. Pingback: Apple Cinnamon Stuffed French Toast - Bakers and Best

Leave a Reply

