Garlic Mashed Red Potatoes

Few things in this world are more comforting than a good bowl of creamy mashed potatoes. It totally spells comfort food. It’s one of those dishes that are not incredibly difficult to make, but can be bland if not done right. I finally found a recipe that works well for me even on a quick dinner night, and it is packed with flavor. I insist that you use red potatoes if at all possible. I think it makes a huge difference. I’m a huge fan of red potatoes for a couple of reasons. First, I like their color and size. Second, and most importantly, they have thin skin. Translation: I’m not peeling potatoes!!! I hate peeling potatoes, and was totally excited when I first learned that it is healthier to eat the skin too. Sold! After all, who am I to argue with the health experts (smile). Enough chit-chat, let’s get to work. oh…. one more thing, if you are not too big on garlic, reduce the number of cloves, or leave off all together. Recipe would also be good with herbs such as parsley and basil in place of the garlic so BYOC (Be Your Own Chef) and do what works for your family’s likes.
Ingredients:
12 medium Red Potatoes
7 Cloves Garlic, peeled
11/2 Cups Milk
1 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Black Pepper
2 Tbsp Melted Butter
1/2 Cup Parmesan Cheese or Cheddar (optional)
Chives to garnish
1. Scrub your potatoes well and rinse. Cut into eighths. Put in a pot with the peeled garlic. Barely cover the potatoes with water and bring to a boil. Cook for about 15 minutes until a knife easily pierces through. Drain and put in large bowl.
2. In the same pot used earlier, heat milk until just hot. Do not boil.
3. Add the milk to the potatoes. Use a hand mixer to whip the potatoes (it’s much easier than hand mashing, and gives great consistency and texture to the mash), or use a potato masher. Add more milk if not creamy enough.
4. Finally, add in the butter and season with the salt and pepper. Adjust to your liking. Add cheese if you please. Garnish with chives.
Enjoy.
Devotion For The Day:
Into the Sea of Forgetfulness:
Today was an exciting and humbling reading. It reminds me of God’s great love for me, flawed and unworthy as I am of His Grace. I sometimes struggle with how such a Holy God can still love a flawed being like me, when I am aware of who I am and the things I do. Today’s reading reminds me of God feels about me, regardless of what my feelings tell me.
Psalms 103:8-12. 8

The Lord is compassionate and gracious,
slow to anger, abounding in love.
He will not always accuse,
nor will he harbor his anger forever;
10 he does not treat us as our sins deserve
or repay us according to our iniquities.
11 For as high as the heavens are above the earth,
so great is his love for those who fear him;
12 as far as the east is from the west,
so far has he removed our transgressions from us.

3 thoughts on “Garlic Mashed Red Potatoes

  1. Pingback: Meatloaf with Tomato-Mustard Glaze | To Plate With Love

  2. Pingback: Balsamic Pot Roast | To Plate With Love

Leave a Reply

